Rāsi – zodiacal signs

The Nirayana, is an imaginary belt of 360 degrees, which, is divided into 12 equal parts. Each twelfth part (of 30 degrees) is called a sign or rāśi (Sanskrit: ‘part’).

Rasi are differentiated with various parameters. Like,
1: Tattva (Element)
2: Quality
3: Ruling Planet of particular Rasi

Each parameter shows the special characteristic of particular “Rasi”. We can easily identify the characteristics of a man or woman with studying various parameters of the his/her “Rasi”.

Check following table for Rasi and its various parameters:

No. Sanskrit Sanskrit gloss English name Tattva (Element) Quality Ruling Planet
1 मेष ram Aries Tejas (Fire) Cara (Movable) Mars
2 वृषभ bull Taurus Prithivi (Earth) Sthira (Fixed) Venus
3 मिथुन twins Gemini Vayu (Air) Dvisvabhava (Dual) Mercury
4 कर्क crab Cancer Jala (Water) Cara (Movable) Moon
5 सिंह lion Leo Tejas (Fire) Sthira (Fixed) Sun
6 कन्या girl Virgo Prithivi (Earth) Dvisvabhava (Dual) Mercury
7 तुला balance Libra Vayu (Air) Cara (Movable) Venus
8 वृश्चिक scorpion Scorpio Jala (Water) Sthira (Fixed) Mars
9 धनुष bow Sagittarius Tejas (Fire) Dvisvabhava (Dual) Jupiter
10 मकर sea-monster Capricorn Prithivi (Earth) Cara (Movable) Saturn
11 कुम्भ pitcher Aquarius Vayu (Air) Sthira (Fixed) Saturn
12 मीन fish Pisces Jala (Water) Dvisvabhava (Dual) Jupiter

– Amit Trivedi

2 thoughts on “Rāsi – zodiacal signs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s